//
you're reading...
Media

Oggcamp 2011: winning and losing internet freedoms through real politics

The Netizen of the World blog does live shows!  OggCamp 2011 gave me the opportunity for the first time to put my ideas before an audience of geeks.  This is the beta version of my talk about practical politics for a free internet.  There’s no doubt I have some bugs to quash before I give it again.  I hope you enjoy the talk in its rough form.

In summary

If you believe that code can’t solve every problem online, that the law matters, that open source software rocks, and that we have a common problem with bad regulation of the web, then look out, you’ve been politicised!  Unfortunately, activists for online civil liberties have a poor track record.  Therefore let’s be smart and use some of the techniques developed by other transnational advocacy networks so we have a better chance of affecting policy.

Notes about the talk
  • The Spanish advocacy groups who campaigned against the ley Sinde were Asociacion de Internautas; Red-SoS; and the Spanish Pirate Party.
  • The “son of ACTA” international agreement I mention is the Trans-Pacific Partnership.
  • When I say International Law has focused on the prosecution of terrible crimes, of course I mean International Criminal Law.
  • I am still reviewing the results of the survey I mention in this post and will post the results from in it in due time.
  • I’ve uploaded a screen grab of the script metaphor hanging in the background during the talk.  Soon, I’ll use Sozi presentation software to make a proper animated vector graphic image.
  • More details to come about everything I mention in this presentation.  Keep your eye on this space.

Big thanks to Alan Bell and all the rest of the OggCamp video crew for making this video available.  Thanks also to Fabian Scherschel and Dan Lynch, the guys who do Linux Outlaws at Six Gun Productions, for putting the vid on their YouTube channel.

About Ambjörn Elder

I'm a social scientist in embryo, a permanently resting actor, a half-hearted cosmopolitan, and now a blogger. More concretely, I'm a candidate for a masters in international affairs at the American University of Paris currently looking for work that involves advocacy or negotiation, or somehow concerns technology or intellectual property issues, especially on the internet.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

